Song Lists: Imogen Heap

I have been producing these lists for sometime now and no-one more than Imogen’s work and its cross-colour pollination has made me question my own theories harder, some things I can’t explain which I should perhaps be able to. This is maybe why so many musicians, including those operating in the more artistic sphere, view colour sound as ‘airy fairy’ and stick to the tried and true A, E, G formula which for me seems as absurd as colour representing it. None the less, for what it’s worth, here is a rudimentary list of IH songs (including some of the Frou Frou material). For those new to the lists, when I say colour I speak of base colour – let’s say a song changes key, hence colour, mid-way through, well for easier reference I’ve listed it here under its base colour. Naturally there are those difficult to pinpoint: Earth (somewhere between yellow and light red), Telemiscommunications (blue or apricot?), Propeller Seeds (grey/apricot?). As always, I hope this is both interesting and thought provoking. December will indeed be magic again.

WHITE

THE DUMBING DOWN OF LOVE

MINT GREEN

LOOSE ENDS
MUST BE DREAMING

YELLOW

SHH
HIDE AND SEEK
THE FIRE
CANVAS (first half, the key change is somewhere around here)

ORANGE

FLICKS
NOT NOW BUT SOON
LIFELINE
NEGLECTED SPACE

RED (different shades)

ONLY GOT ONE
THE MOMENT I SAID IT

LIGHT BLUE

CLOSING IN

BRIGHT BLUE

FIRST TRAIN HOME

MID BLUE

GOODNIGHT AND GO
CLEAR THE AREA

DARK BLUE

IT’S GOOD TO BE IN LOVE

LIGHT GREEN

DARK GREEN

LET GO
HAVE YOU GOT IT IN YOU?

ROSE

BAD BODY DOUBLE

CRIMSON

RUN-TIME (some parts of this eg ‘I was so young, misguided maybe’ might be classed as pink)

PURPLE

GREY (varying shades)

AHA!
OLD PIANO
HEADLOCK
WAIT IT OUT
LITTLE BIRD
XIXI SHE KNOWS

BROWN

TIDAL

BLACK

Leave a Reply

